Poets logo

A wonderful mind

and it's thorns.

By KimmyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6

When the torrent of thoughts debilitates me without any warning

I search through the delusions that silently pull her away from me.

I observe my surroundings in great despair, preparing to find her.

But wait! What is real? Is that white bunny with a clock really there?

Just by the mere sight, I cannot tell!

All I know is I need to find her, and I will prevail.

The world's colors begin to blur, and the sounds of nature cease.

And I know what this must mean. She has drifted too far beyond my reach.

Still, I don't give up and keep on searching for her.

A familiar sight of bright white roses catches my eye.

So, I dart toward them, praying I have not lost her yet.

There is hope, I say!

I taste and touch the sharp thorns protruding from the stem.

With a tight fist, I grasp and squeeze as hard as I can.

The way she taught me too.

I hear a distant and faint cry as blood streams down my wrists.

She is near. I sense her. This can't be a lie!

I smell the vanilla scent escaping her pores and open my eyes.

And that's when I see her. In the mirror, gazing back at me as I shout

I found you!

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Kimmy

A mommy and wife that loves to read and write for fun as well as going to all the many adventures of the mind! As the elves in Middle Earth would say in Sindarin,

"Navaer"

Farewell!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabile11 months ago

    Wow, such amazing imagery that you use. It's a visual journey! Excellent writing!

  • I love this. Your carefully selected words play together in a fun yet descriptive way. Your poem is clever and sweet. Mae carnen!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Overall great work. Cover pic is interesting,

  • Kelley Stead12 months ago

    Great imagery throughout! Love the Alice theme 🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.