Poets logo

A Wish

A Poem About Friendship

By Emma LaurensPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Friendship" by Leonid Afremov

I do not wish for diamonds, nor for gold;

I do not wish for priceless works of art.

I simply wish to have a hand to hold,

One given by a true, devoted heart.

I do not wish for anything so grand

As castles or expansive lands to own;

I simply wish for one to help me stand

When I don’t have the strength to stand alone.

I do not wish to be immune to fears

That I should one day face a mortal end,

For I will gladly live out all my years

If I can do so with a faithful friend.

I have no wish, because I still have you;

To call you Friend is my best dream come true.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emma Laurens

Emma Laurens is a college student and aspiring writer. Her main interests are creative writing, theatre, film, music, and adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.