Poets logo

A Winter Lament

A poem

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
A Winter Lament
Photo by Farrel Nobel on Unsplash

Numbing coldness, cold that seeps down to my bones

sloppy, sloshy messes of slush and snow

icy paths where black ice awaits

I step with the utmost caution dodging patches of ice

Thinking I’m in the clear a little too soon I take one misstep

In a blur, I find myself lying on my back looking up at the grey sky

I hope I didn’t break anything.

The grey sky, so bleak and desolate

No sunshine, no blue skies, or downy white clouds to provoke imagination

A half foot of snow covers the path

shovel in hand, a bag of salt at the ready

Oh shoveling what a joy!

Numbing fingers; numbing toes

I look up at the sun

If only it could melt this all away

To a day of balmy sunshine, cool breezes, and lounging by the pool

Melt it all a way

nature poetryFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Impressive work! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.