Poets logo

A Winter in Chernobyl

A poem inspired by my tour of Chernobyl during a study abroad trip in December of 2018, and my grandfather's stories of the disaster

By Natasha MorozovPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Photo taken by Natasha Morozov December 27, 2018 - Pripyat Oblast, Ukraine - Chernobyl Exclusion Zone

Amidst the snow-laden fields, I walk alone

With the cold winter wind biting my skin to the bone

The silence echoes, a haunting refrain

As I step forth, into the desolate domain

The taste of metal lingers on my tongue

A sharp tang, that makes me feel undone

A warning of the danger that lurks ahead

A taste that fills me with both fear and dread

The scent of decay, hangs heavy in the air

A musty aroma, that fills me with despair

The ghostly remnants of a life long gone

Now nothing but ruins, lost and forlorn

The crunch of snow beneath my feet

A sound that resonates, a rhythm so neat

As I trek through the wasteland, step by step

Each sound echoing, like a beating heart kept

The chill of the winter air, a constant reminder

Of the disaster that struck, a life-taker, a blinder

A cold that seeps into my bones, deep and profound

A reminder of the loss, that we cannot expound

The sight that greets my eyes, is one of sorrow

A landscape destroyed, with no hope for tomorrow

Buildings torn apart, trees frozen in time

A world gone awry, a vision most unkind

In this place, where death reigns supreme

I am but a witness, to a tragedy most extreme

A land forever changed, by a force most fierce

A reminder of the frailty, of all that we hold dear.

vintagesurreal poetrysad poetrynature poetry
1

About the Creator

Natasha Morozov

Hello! My name is Natasha, and I have been a fan of fantasy, horror, and sci-fi stories for as long as I can remember. My professional background is in cyber security, but my true passion is in music and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.