Poets logo

A Weekend In Spider Country

Surreal Poetry

By A.R. MinhasPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Spider Love: A.R. Minhas (c) 2017

I’m here

Sitting by the lake

If you can see me now

What do I have to lose?

If I wasn’t here it wouldn’t matter

If I’m not here it wouldn’t change you

It wouldn’t change the crystal clear water

There is nothing that I can do

Lying here impotent

On red Muskoka chairs

No matter how far I travel

Or where I sit

It doesn’t change

This unease

I can never get comfortable

Feeling useless isn’t unique

But feeling nothing

Is okay

Spiders crawling

Bedspread

I try to bleed them but they keep coming back

Nesting in my ears

You can hear them

Constructing a web

Trap the flies

I wish I could trap your eyes

Stroke them with honey

This sugar is for you

And there’s nothing left for me.

Leaving, wouldn’t matter

Staying

Is suspended mid-air

Floating

Spiders make me uncomfortable

And that’s why I can’t sit still.

© A.R. Minhas 2017

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

A.R. Minhas

Self-published author of 'June is Dreaming'. Voracious reader. Watcher of weird entertainment.

Website: https://arminhas.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/arminhas

Artwork on Redbubble.

h

Private queries: [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.