Poets logo

a week in july

a poem

By brittany schmidt Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

tuesday. i’m fine. i sit at work, clinging to my desk. i’m fine. i remember your voice on the phone. i spiral. i cry alone over the lunch hour./have you been crying?/my boss is annoyed that i can’t control my anxiety like she can./an invisible fiend i can’t get off my back/i leave work.

wednesday. at least i still have your flannel./there’s an astonishing amount of crows that have moved into my backyard./ their cawing sounds like a distress signal./ it’s hot. i fill galvanized buckets with water and tell them it’s a bird bath./maybe i shouldn’t have fed them.

thursday. my period is three days late now. i assume it’s from the stress. i assume it’s because you left again. i assume it’s from crying.

friday. i watch quentin tarantino movies in the back yard with a paintbrush braided between my fingers. true romance is my favorite. you liked my teeth, i paint a picture of them. i call it a memorial.

saturday. i wake up to an empty house./god, it's so quiet, why is it so quiet?/ i play sid & nancy on repeat. i let my brain marinate. i clean to distract myself but i spend most of the day sleeping. heartbreak is exhausting.

sunday morning. you call me at 12:54am. i always stay up until 3am on the weekends. i think it’s less lonely when you're hiding under darkness. jesus, i missed your voice. you knock on my door. you bleed the scent of alcohol. we kiss like teenagers. i let you sleep.

sunday afternoon. i get dressed and stare at the blank space from the hem of my shorts to the top of my shoes/a blank canvas/i wish i wasn’t too nervous to walk into a tattoo parlor./i drive you downtown. you left your vehicle parked safely at the bar. thank god.

monday. i should’ve crawled into bed earlier. i’m light-headed and hungry. i miss you but i don’t check my phone. i make it to work. i’ve worked here for ten years. i’m fine. i sit, clinging to my desk.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

brittany schmidt

starry-eyed human with romance tangled in her hair; probably off napping somewhere.

@bullllschmidt / [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.