Poets logo

A War In The Body

Trigger warning: Disturbing content. A poem dedicated to my cousin who recently succumbed to cancer

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4
A War In The Body
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Cells in my body

are constantly dividing and creating

a field of bleeding bugs

that will not be cleared,

until they're killed with

toxic chemotherapy.

I'm laying on the hospital bed

in such sour agony

whining, lamenting, screaming

until I leave this battlefield

I'm currently running on.

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I have no hair,

no nails, no lips.

My skin is light and pale

like lemon juice.

My lips are not raspberry red,

but wrinkly and the color

of dried pears.

My scalp is as cold as a snowball,

so I wear a hat or wig to

warm my head.

I lost my nails, so I can't

visit the salon to get them painted.

I feel dead inside

and I lose my need

to live and breathe.

I lose my identity

and forget who I really am.

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Before I know it,

I will exit the battlefield,

because I have fought this war

triumphantly and productively.

I may lose,

or win my battle;

but I want to be remembered

as a heroine with lots

of courage and determination.

I may not be on this planet,

but I'm forever in your hearts.

HaShem has taken me into His care

and I deserve to live free from pain and suffering

By Angiola Harry on Unsplash

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my poem about how terrible cancer is. My cousin passed away on Tuesday August 3rd at only 46 years old. She leaves behind her supportive group of peers, her family members, husband, stepsons, colleagues and her "furbabies". She was the kindest and most optimistic person on the planet. May she rest in peace.

If you found this poem touching and worth reading, please give me a ❤️, share it with others and don't hesitate to send me a tip to give me some support during this difficult time I'm going through. Please visit my public profile, subscribe to me and stay tuned for more poems, stories and articles on a variety of subjects. Please feel free to connect with me on Instagram. Have a great week and accentuate the positive!

IG Acccount: @naturalbibliophile22

Melissa Thomas (nee Rodriguez): August 27 1974-August 3 2021. Photo taken in 2013 and found on FB

#cancerawareness #tooyoungtodie #cancersucks #RIPcousin #fcancer #memories #grief #loss #sorrow

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.