Poets logo

A Voice Defining The Meaning

performing=home

By Jada FergusonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

It is not only how something is written-

It is how the story is told-

-

Your applause-

Coincides with the way-

I deliver it-

-

There has to be an offering up-

Of what will leave my body-

When my body leaves the Earth-

-

My voice has to define the meaning of my words-

-

So you can really feel-

My heart pounding out of my chest-

As if every one of you were-

Palming pieces of my enormous heart-

Keeping me in your presence-

Until you are done with me-

And I with you-

-

A voice defining my meaning-

Is not something I have to try to learn-

It’s something God spread over my lungs at birth-

Even if I don’t have it when I’m alone-

-

The voice defining my meaning-

Will meet me -

As I meet you-

And all of us-

In that room will-

Reach the previously unattainable-

Understanding-

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.