Poets logo

A Survivor’s Year of Talking Smacks on the Internet

🎂 We Deserve a Little Treat to Celebrate 🎂

By Veronica WrenPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
3
¡Brindis! Photo by author: Veronica Wren

This year has been an emotional rollercoaster, and I am beyond grateful to all who have hopped on this death-defying ride.

On this day one year ago, I published my first blog article recounting my experiences of domestic violence at the hands of my power-hungry, alcoholic, gun-obsessed, narcissistic abuser of five years.

Since then, I’ve shared 83 posts, had stories boosted and selected as editor’s picks on Medium , been selected as Top Story on Vocal 3 times, been a featured guest on 2 incredible relationship-focused podcasts, and won 4 awards for my writing efforts.

While I have a long way to go, writing has been essential to my recovery. I’m so proud to have finally reached a place where I feel safe, supported, and healed enough to begin sharing my experiences of abuse.

I want to send the most heartfelt thank you to my incredible readers who have validated my truth in ways I’ve never experienced. You’re absolutely the reason behind my success and your support inspires me to keep going each and every single day.

To all my survivors and current victims out there: I believe you. You are not alone. You don’t deserve what happened to you.

There can be an after. Let’s find it together.

And to the abusive asshole who spent years making the lives of me and my dogs a living hell: rot forever.

I’m Glad You’re Here

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn’t. Subscribe to receive your FREE digital copy of my guided journal, “Empower and Heal: 90 Days of Transformational Prompts for Trauma Recovery, Self-Discovery, and Growth”, created with love for survivors by a fellow survivor.

Revisit my very first article below!

Mental HealthinspirationalFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Veronica Wren

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn't. Subscribe here for your FREE exclusive guided journal

❤️‍🩹 bio.link/veronicawren ❤️‍🩹

Domestic Abuse & CPTSD Recovery Coach

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran18 days ago

    Congratulations for all of your achievements! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 I'm so glad you're out of that abusive relationship! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Good for you! I'm glad you got out and are speaking about it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.