Poets logo

A Summer Run

A Vivid Summer Sonnet

By Sarah OPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

There I am, enjoying the outdoors and basking in the sun.

The warm rays filling me up.

Heat rises as I continue to run.

The shine grows as I continue on and over the next hump.

I see the bush, full of colorful flowers, screaming for me to come and see.

As I run closer, the flowers grow, sparkling through the heavy rays.

Purple, pink, blue, and white shine through the yellow light.

Beautiful they look, reflecting the sun and dancing to the wind, but something else catches my gaze.

I push forward, faster down the hill, wanting to reach that illuminating spot.

The closer I get, the further it seems, like a little ray of light, impossible to see.

Yellow grows brighter and the object nears.

The desire blooms as I finally see it attached to a tree.

A reflective mirror to capture all the light, but it is in-fact a locket hanging on the bark.

An old family heirloom lost in the last storm that the sun had given back to renew my spark.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah O

I am a medical student studying at Saint George's University. I have the opportunity to travel and help those around me. In my career I want to be an OB/GYN in order to help further women's health.

Writing is a true passion that brings joy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.