Poets logo

A Summer Afternoon

Romance in the Sun

By Chas C. SmithPublished 7 years ago 13 min read
Like

Romance in the Sun

Truths Encountered

What belies the heart belies the mind

What truths we seek we seek for justice

Not glory, never glory

For those we don't understand are only those we have not taken time to understand

And in life, those truths we seek, we seek in order to live.

Her Eyes

They sparkle with a wry bit of humor that makes my comedic tongue unable to whet its appetite

They glow with a certain enchantment that makes it a little hard to be at ease.

When they connect with mine, I get a wiggle of delight.

When I see her eyes watching me, I can't help but resist a temptation to desist in all else but to please.

My heart jumps for joy whenever I think of her delightful eyes combing my every detail.

Who am I to complain when my mind can't refrain of thinking of those wondrous blues in all their assorted hues.

I could get lost in those eyes and I would wander for days in an absolute daydream.

I could drown in those eyes and I wouldn't mind it.

But it is the kindness in those eyes that captures my heart so.

The only way I can describe it is a dance that has adventure and romance gathered in all its glory with a wee bit of humor, just enough to remind us life is not so hard if you can ride the day a way with a smile upon your face.

Love

So fast

So breathless

So needed and restless

That's what I feel when you say love.

So fun

So fair

So much greater than eclairs.

That's what I feel when you say love.

So soon

So hot

So what you got.

That's what I feel when you say love.

I love you.

The Frustration of Lameness

I hear your laugh and I want to ask you out but the words catch in my throat.

I see your eyes sparkle and I want to dance the night away with you but my arms won't respond to my commands.

I smell your hair as you walk by and I want to chase after you and hold you in my arms but my legs won't work.

I see your smile widen and the room gets brighter and I want to cause that smile but my lips won't move.

I know your kind heart and I want to shoulder the burdens that you carry. If I had one wish, it'd be to let you know that I heard you.

I heard your good days and your bad days.

I heard your triumphs and your defeats.

I heard your soft cries behind your smiles and I heard your laughter in the face of things that should crush you.

You mean more than the world to me, my little Honeybee.

Love and Hate

Tree blossoms float in the wind as I rush my fingers through your hair, as the river goes by.

The smell that wafts towards me is so sweet as I hold you close to me, as the clouds form fluffs in the sky.

The ducks play noisily in the water as I make you laugh, as the sun goes down.

The squirrels run amok and squabble furiously as I walk you to my car, as the shadows stretch across the ground.

The rain wipes away my tears as I curse you out, as the river goes by.

The snow falls gently on my face as I forget your smell, as the blanket of clouds covers the sky.

The crows caw violently as I walk myself to my car, as the sun goes down.

The frogs sing one last song as I remember your sweet eyes, as the snow melted from the ground.

Goals

Sometimes Life takes you in a direction you're not sure you wanna go.

That's ok as long as you know how to get back onto the road again.

However, if you get a ticket to that mystery tour with no compass to let you know where the North star rises from, you might want to keep that in tow.

Follow your heart and let it decide. It's not often that it's wrong.

As long as you know where you want to go, you'll get there.

Just believe!

Failure

Fail, fail, fail, fail again

Strive, fight through the pain.

Learn from your mistakes

So you can create successes from your heartaches.

Try, try, try, try again.

Don't give up, the hurt will wane.

Fuck-ups are the manure for your garden's flower.

Don't let that shit stop you from building an everlasting power.

What doesn't kill you makes you stronger.

Friendship

Cherish the laughs and the joy when your friends gather around.

They may not be related to you but they are a part of your family.

They are there through thick and thin; it's where true loyalty will be found.

Hope is yielded from them like the giving tree.

Each of them is one of the tenderers of your garden.

They have only one job and that is to help.

To do other than that is a deed done that can have no pardon.

Now as you are their friend as well you need to be there should they yelp.

However, friends are not there just for danger.

They help in whatever way they see fit; sometimes, that means to make life more enjoyable.

They'll be there for the good times and the bad, even when you need a plunger.

Stay true and act as only what you'd like to be done to you then life might be less predictable.

How can life be fun if you see it all coming.

Friendship

Cherish the laughs and the joy when your friends gather around.

They may not be related to you but they are a part of your family.

They are there through thick and thin; it's where true loyalty will be found.

Hope is yielded from them like the giving tree.

Each of them is one of the tenderers of your garden.

They have only one job and that is to help.

To do other than that is a deed done that can have no pardon.

Now as you are their friend as well you need to be there should they yelp.

However, friends are not there just for danger.

They help in whatever way they see fit; sometimes, that means to make life more enjoyable.

They'll be there for the good times and the bad, even when you need a plunger.

Stay true and act as only what you'd like to be done to you then life might be less predictable.

How can life be fun if you see it all coming.

True Bravery

Cowards will always run even when running ain’t possible.

The weak remain forever meek in the shadows of their doubts even when they are offered certainty.

The strong will only prevail in light of their persistence in achieving their goals even when it's not plausible.

Brave men are only brave in view of the shadows they conquered even when those shadows had no tangibility.

The real challenge is to be brave when you want to and rebuff cowardice when you don’t even when it's impossible.

Fire and Ice

You glow brighter than the snow on sunny day.

My heart skips when I see you. It warms my frigid soul.

Life springs from you like a never ending stream.

Just viewing your waters brings a smile to my face.

Whether you know it or not, my love for you burns brightly even when you think it’s not

The old frozen parts that had taken up residence within me melt when I'm with you.

Your smile is all I want to see

Your laugh is all I want to hear.

As long as that happens it doesn’t matter who we are.

It only matters that we are.

The Girl with the Sour Patch Kids

It all started long ago when we still had wires on our video game controllers.

Specifically, it was a rainy night - the same type of night that was perfect for pretend pirate ships.

I was outside in my front yard inside of my box, sailing out to sea, grinding my molars.

That's when I saw her, all covered in blue, holding something red to her lips.

"What's that?" I asked.

"Not yours." She tsked.

Her hair was as red as ketchup and her eyes were strikingly blue.

At that moment, I'm not sure what my heart knew but my mouth moved anyways.

"Why not? Seems like you got plenty."

"Maybe. I'll change my mind...for a twenty."

My mouth was gaping wide and my eyes were wide too.

This girl was spunkier than anyone I ever known. It put me in a haze.

Then the worst thing that could happen transpired.

Big, mean, lean machine, Mighty Dean came walking up towards us.

"Lookie here. It's little Danny Scott and Miss Navajo."

His eyes caught on the bag and suddenly he seemed wired.

"And looks like you got some candy for me, Hobo."

Anger rose up within me and I charged him right in the tuchus.

Unfortunately, strength did not rise within me and Dean remained standing.

He grinned then pushed me down to the ground.

Tears formed at the corner of my eyes, all hope abandoned.

Dean swiped the bag of candy from her hands, then proceeded to toss it around.

"See ya later, losers."

I hid my face to hide my shame.

Then I felt a hand pat my back.

"Don't be a snoozer.

You were actually pretty brave."

I shook my head, "No, I'm just a knave."

I got up and left, leaving that place and the whole game.

Many years passed by before I saw her again, having broken from the pack.

It happened in college on a cool, wintery night.

I sat in the pizzeria at GWU.

And that's when I saw that gorgeous, red hair that made my heart grow light.

"Could that possibly be her?"

Her face turned towards me and that's when I knew it was true.

Those blue eyes pierced deep into my soul, unlocking truths I did not know.

I stood up and waved my hand to catch her attention.

She continued walking straight past me and up the stairs.

I knew if I waited I'd lose any chance of her affection.

I left my pizza, untouched and unpaid for, and ran up those very stairs.

There may have been yelling but I didn't care.

I rushed out those doors and looked left and then right.

There I spotted her and her destination laid bare.

I ran and ran until my lungs began to fight.

I was almost there and I knew what I had to do.

"Jennifer!"

That's when she turned to see me, lack of recognition clear in her eyes.

I walked up to join her and prepared to explain who-

She kissed me, right on the lips, sensation running straight to where my heart lies.

I asked, "How?"

She said, "Not now."

Then kissed me again.

That's when I noticed we were being watched.

Right on the steps of their dormitory stood a leaner, meaner Dean the machine.

"Well, well ,well, look at what we have here. A boy kissing my girlfriend."

Shock rushed throughout my body and I stepped back only to see we all were being watched.

Beers were held but not not drunk, eyes staring at the three of us like we had a luminescent sheen.

A cheer began quiet but sound soon grew loud.

"Fight, fight, fight, fight."

Dean took it all in like a gladiator in the Colosseum.

Jennifer looked at me with eyes that were not proud.

Dean started to walk toward me and I had but one thought, Carpe diem.

I got down into my sparring stance.

Dean laughed, "That's not how you fight."

He pulled back his fist and punched with all of his might.

I dodged and continued to dodge while he threw his barrage, less of a fight and more of a dance.

He punched. I weaved. He kicked. I jumped. We didn't notice that it was now night.

"Stay still and fight like a man."

I smirked and said, "I don't know if you can."

That's when I switched stances and caught him with a one-inch punch.

He finally fell. The chants went silent and I turned my back and walked away.

I heard grunts and I had a hunch.

I turned around quickly and kicked and it met him in a forceful way.

Dean the machine fell and that was it.

The party resumed, music turned back on and money exchanged.

I looked at Jennifer and saw the guilt which bit.

I walked away, trying not to show anger or upset though one who could do that is certainly deranged.

"Wait, you don't understand."

I yelled back, without turning, "I get it. He was your man."

She ran up ahead of me. "Wait, please let me explain."

I stopped. "Alright. You got one minute and not a second to gain."

She moved the collar of her shirt down to reveal her bruises.

"He beat me and made me be with him."

"So I was just the guy to get rid of him."

Her eyes went to the ground. "I'm sorry. You just looked strong and I-"

"You don't know who I am. That's true, isn't it? Well, bye."

I could tell she had no clue and I couldn't deal with any more loses.

I went around her and kept walking.

"Wait!"

I kept walking and then I felt a thud on my head.

I turned, rubbing a hand on my head and there I saw something which got me talking.

"Those are..." She walked up to me and put her finger on my mouth. "It's fate."

She kissed then and I could feel that emotion that I had come to dread.

Love. I had refused it and put it away in a drawer and my instincts told me to the same now.

I stepped back. "I can't."

She stepped forward. "You can."

She kissed me again and all fear, hatred, arrogance washed away to only feel what I feel now.

"I'd never forget you, Danny Scott, my hero."

"I'm no hero."

"And I'm not a redhead."

That made me smile.

"Why in the hell are you always carrying Sour Patch Kids, redhead?"

She smiled, my heart jumped in a way I can only describe with one word, wow.

Kids, that's how I met your mother and it's been a long wonderful while.

Flowerpatch

Azaleas would bloom, reminding me of your elegance.

Dogwoods would blossom to remind me of your integrity.

Crepe myrtles would flourish to show your vibrance.

Sunflowers would grow to show you're always cheery.

White roses would thrive to keep up with your beauty.

Red roses would pop up abundantly to keep up with your love.

Purple daisies would draw a crowd to see you all smiley.

Pink lilies would find you in dozens to see you listen to the turtledove.

That's what I'd have in my flowerpatch to admire the best in you from now and forever.

Lovely Dew

Morning brings raindrops

And raindrops bring roses

And roses bring all of my favorite things.

There's rabbits and bunnies

And doggies and kittens

And with them comes running the best of all.

She's got blue eyes and brown hair

And long legs and laughter

And my favorite, the light in her eyes that makes me alive.

That's a list of my favorite things.

Come join me and sing them again.

Morning brings raindrops

And raindrops bring roses

And roses bring all of my favorite things.

There's rabbits and bunnies

And doggies and kittens

And with them comes running the best of all.

She's got blue eyes and brown hair

And long legs and laughter

And my favorite, the light in her eyes that makes me alive.

With all of the hues, there's nothing to compare

To the joy I feel when count

All of my favorite things right there!

art
Like

About the Creator

Chas C. Smith

I'm the author of Sweethearts: An American Telenovela. I've always loved creating that feeling of intrigue in readers. I work to make everything I do enjoyable. Twitter:@ChasCSmith FB: https://www.facebook.com/Chas-C-Smith-1747050455592558/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.