Poets logo

A Sticky Situation

A Poem About Revenge

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
A Sticky Situation
Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

My good friend gave me some candy

But I never asked, “What’s that?”

I just thanked him for the gesture

And then, on a bench, I sat.

*

He was smiling from the sidewalk

When I opened up the sack.

Just the smell of it was awful–

An olfactory attack!

*

It was sickly sweet and spicy…

Then I understood the trap:

It was licorice in there and

I’m the unsuspecting sap!

*

I should throw it in the trash can

And set fire to the bag!

The thought of eating licorice,

It’s enough to make me gag.

*

I will bury all the ashes

In a forest dark and drab,

But never eat that licorice;

I would rather lick a scab.

*

My good friend, he stood there laughing

As he watched me get so mad.

I’d like to make him eat my shoe

But it wouldn’t taste as bad.

*

So I’ll wait and watch and listen

For my chance to get him back…

Then I’ll give him chocolate raisins

In a chocolate peanut pack.

****

An ode to petty revenge and my hatred of licorice, and a Vocal exclusive! If you liked this, check out one of my lighter free-verse poems, The Whispers!

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    My grandpap ate those licorice allsorts. I suspect he chose them because it's the only kind the grandchildren wouldn't eat first.

  • Awww this was a cute revenge poem. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.