Poets logo

A Stepdad's Night Before Christmas

Written By: Mitchel Lunsford

By Mitch LunsfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Stepdad's Night Before Christmas
Photo by Chad Madden on Unsplash

It was the night before Christmas

And it's all quiet in my house

The boys are both sleeping

Their mom is passed out on the couch.

Here as I sit awake

I think of the joy

Of both of my boys

Opening up their new toys.

I think of how lucky

and blessed I may be

To have a beautiful family

Who cares and loves me

This is one blessed Christmas

My most favorite I've had.

Lord, what have I done

To be such a lucky stepdad?

I went from just me

With no one to care for

To being a soon to be husband

With a family of four.

So as I sit here awake

On this Christmas Eve

I say thanks, Lord, for the best gift

You gave me my new family.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Mitch Lunsford

I'm just a simple man, from a simple town, just trying to put my creativity out there for people to see. I'm a 32 year old, single father of 3 really cool boys. They are my biggest inspiration for everything that I do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.