Poets logo

A Snake In The Field

A Friend Betrayed

By JasperRei TheArtistPublished 10 days ago 1 min read

A Snake In The Field

A snake called me crazy

Now she’s pushing up daisies (socially speaking)

Could never fall from grace for her

She loves too lazy

With lies so amazing

It’s hard to turn away

But her time is up with me

She ran out of good graces

Oh well, now I’ve got too many new beautiful faces

Got too many phases

You just have to keep up

Or get left in the dust

Everywhere I go their eyes are full of lust

But all I really need is genuine love 

Not for clout

Not for currency 

Or looks

Because then you’re doing too much

And that’s never enough

~Jasper Rei The Artist

06.03.24

This piece was written in a moment of self-reflection on the relationships no longer in my life. Sometimes you don’t realize how toxic you’ve become around another or how toxic a person chooses to be with you, especially when they have a challenging time challenging the love and light inside themselves. A person can only love you as much and as deeply as they love themselves. I’ve learned never to question who I am and the love I have to give another. I just learned how to love myself and the right one. 

Sometimes it requires courage and the art of letting go to understand one deserves nothing but unconditional love in every way needed. This is the only way for one to begin to actualize their own power!

Thanks for reading my poem! Here’s a little bit of background about myself, if you’re new, I’m Jasper Rei The Artist. I’m a mixed media artist from the DMV. I have four public art collections called Perspective, Layers, Abstract Mind, and Perception. Check them out on TikTok and Instagram @jasperreitheartist and @galleryofdiamondsnft. I’m also a gamer on Twitch, TikTok, and Instagram @jasperreithegem and @onthesticksmobile. I also love sharing my investment journey and portfolios on X @jasperreiinvest and Instagram/ Threads @jaspersoptions. Thank you for your support and reading my thoughts. If you would like to support me personally, I’m on PayPal: [email protected] and cashapp: $jasperreitheartist .

social commentarysurreal poetrySong Lyrics

About the Creator

JasperRei TheArtist

This is a sacred space, a dream, a concept, a thought, experimental art turned reality.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JasperRei TheArtistWritten by JasperRei TheArtist

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.