Poets logo

A slow night

life as it really is

By Peter RosePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was a quiet night,only a few seated at the tables.

I glanced up from my soup and became transfixed,

only ten feet away, a vision as if from fables.

Blond hair hanging free, and a smile had me bewitched.

The soup cooled down, my breath became shallow,

I dare not take my eyes from this vision,

lest if fade and melt away, as does heated tallow.

All past, all present and all future need revision.

She sat alone, no eyes for me, just waiting,

My soup became cold, my mind confused.

Time stood still, life on hold, no rating,

Great Gaia stopped her spinning, a world refused.

She turned her perfection of a face and smiled,

My heart pounded in my chest, scarce contained.

Life before this moment just got filed,

She stood and greeted a hansom man, my life maimed.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Peter Rose

Collections of "my" vocal essays with additions, are available as printed books ASIN 197680615 and 1980878536 also some fictional works and some e books available at Amazon;-

amazon.com/author/healthandfunpeterrose

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.