Poets logo

A Simple Rose & A Smoky Stein

An Ode to Dine

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
A Simple Rose & A Smoky Stein
Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

A Simple rose set upon a table; she always sets the mood

Pleasantry while enjoying plenty of hearty home cooked food

Pair it with a smoky stein; I much prefer it over a glass

Dainty, thin and fragile stems; I find them rather crass

A Frosty mug with fancy etchings, chilled with Merlot wine

Paints a smile on my face; this is my ode to dine

A simple rose and company; either family or some friends

Centerpiece of love, you see, the message that she sends

Smoky steins are favored by those seeking beer time guzzle

But I prefer them for sipping wine; sipping slowly to a fuzzle

Each to their own, I often say; I like my choice just fine

Perhaps not seen as normal standard; this is my ode to dine

A simple rose brightens up a room and compliments a meal

Her ruby petals are such a delight no matter how you feel

A smoky stein is her mate; oh, my worthy bosom friends

No matter how bad my day may be, these two will sway amends

To project out on the holidays, as whether to gather or just confine

It’s okay because either way I will indulge in my ode to dine

Complacent with a simple rose and one good old smoky stein

By Eleventh Wave on Unsplash

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.