Poets logo

A simple life

the best life

By Shirley BelkPublished 2 years ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Just Like a Child

I am wrapped in clean sheets and a light, fluffy spread

Next to me, snuggled & nestled, my oldest cat in our bed.

Clouds of thoughts cross from my heart to my brows

And cause me to give joyful thanks for our vows.

I pause to reflect on today's achievements and events

And am grateful for all the time and love well spent.

I think of those who are no longer here in the flesh

but whose memories live vividly in the love I caress.

And for those who are walking into their journey still

I'm so glad they have paused beside me by fate or by will.

Hot tea in the mornings and an occasional chocolate kiss

Those little extra blessings give me comfort like this.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.