Poets logo

A Silly Thing to Do

Painting pictures in my head of all the things that we could do.

By CatPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A recreation of Halsey's "Manic" album cover. 2020

Got you on my mind.

What a silly thing to do.

Painting pictures in my head

of all the things that we could do.

-

Afraid we won’t look good together.

“Am I even good enough for you?”

Why do I think you’re so high above me?

Oh,

what a silly thing to do.

To place you high above the clouds.

to chase perfection,

just for you.

To think I need to change myself

Just to be good enough for you.

-

“Why do I care so much about you?”

“Why do I think the way that I do?”

Believe that we can be together.

Oh,

what a silly thing to do.

Working so hard to build the patience,

and confidence

to be with you.

-

As if we were still together,

I lie in bed thinking of you.

I lie awake thinking of you.

I have these dreams

thinking of you.

Night scares.

Shaking.

Waking.

Hoping

and dreaming

I were

here with you.

-

And you were here with me.

Oh, how sweet it all can be.

Wondering if these dreams can ever

come true.

Oh,

what a silly thing to do.

-

“Get these thoughts out of my head!”

Because these feelings,

they need to end.

For me to even think about

me and you?

Oh my,

what a

silly,

little,

thing

for me

to

do.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.