Poets logo

A Sea of Change!

Something my oldest daughter wrote when she was a teenager for a High school writing assignment! A beautiful peace of work! I will be publishing it one of my books! :-)

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
A Sea of Change!
Photo by Bucerius Law School on Unsplash

A Sea of Change!

People. Everywhere.

I’m trying to walk through the hallways, but I go nowhere, lost in a sea. I’m dragged down into the depths of it. Down, down, down. Stay to the right! is screamed from the sky. The sky I wish I could reach. The walls greet me violently, and I welcome it, but I must leave it behind quickly and continue down, deeper into the sea. The sea of bodies.

A large group is at the bottom of the well, staring down at me. I try to get around them, but I’m pushed by the current into them, then pushed away, a mere ping pong ball in the masses. My head down, I push forward again, and finally I break free. Stumbling, I arrive. A name that’s never been mine glares at me from the wall. Several names do, ordering people where to go. But one in particular, a name for me, but one that’s never been mine, tells me where I am to be. Everyone is told where to be. Many don’t notice, or some disobey. I don’t. I sit, and I wait. Glad to be safe from the sea!

By Destiny-Blue Angela Wise!

A Mother`s Perfect Daughter, Forever! :-)

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jennifer CooleyWritten by Jennifer Cooley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.