Poets logo

A Sail Off the Coast of Time

Poem

By Victor EavesPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
4
A Sail Off the Coast of Time
Photo by Robert Wiedemann on Unsplash

Let’s sail into the misty night,

under sparkling stars, in a rowboat,

headed to a city outside the hands of time.

An everlasting shine envelops every corner,

where radiant citizens know no foreigner.

May my life be baptized upon the sunrise of my stay.

Let there be joy overflowing from my eyes.

With a turn of my face,

I’ll see my mom dance again with her husband

in the cleanest room of my grandmother’s mansion.

Each room has been expanded.

Not a spot or wrinkle on the window drapes.

I once threw a wishing stone into the backyard lake as a child

and saw it ripple.

Today, I finally received the signal

when the mayor called to tell me it would all be clear.

“But, for now,” he said, “Capture each moment and hold it dear.”

All the neon signs glow ‘I Love You Forever.’

I felt a familiar breeze hug me in the warmest weather.

Off the coast of that pearly beach,

the skyline is a beacon for the lost at sea.

Let’s sail off the edge of the world

and leave our tears behind.

We don’t have to be magicians to disappear from the grip of time.

Free Verse
4

About the Creator

Victor Eaves

Creative Writing hobbyist. Been writing all my life, but never professionally. Hoping to change that.

Favorite genres include action/fantasy, anime/manga, horror/creepypasta.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶7 days ago

    Lovely and whimsical… ‘ Let’s sail off the edge of the world and leave our tears behind. We don’t have to be magicians to disappear from the grip of time.’

  • Rachel Deeming11 days ago

    I love the images in this. Memories drawn back to the forefront; sailing away to a heavenly place; the dream-like, utopian quality of it. It's serene.

  • A nice reflection of the life

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.