Poets logo

A Rhyme For Everything Written On The Eighth Of Each Month

It is not easy to do if you write as much as I do.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
5
A Rhyme For Everything Written On The Eighth Of Each Month
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Rhyming is what I do a lot!

Writing rap music started it as I fought

to learn to rhyme.

It took time.

The grandson said

you will never understand, just go to bed.

I was going to be the next rapping granny.

Imagine that, not a ninny or a nanny.

~

What a waste

of all my talents I say in haste.

I try different forms of poetry

mostly the ones that rhyme and I like derogatory

rhymes with poetry. Just kidding, it rhymes.

Then there are times

when it just spills out of me

I am so talkative, you see.

And real strategic.

I laugh and panic.

I am not going to get through my list

of words on my poetry prompt. The gist

is to rally me and others

like I do my brothers

on a horse race.

They don't grace

me with space

to race. It is more piano

in a compartment, you know

We have little to no room

to race. I like to zoom

at my computer or phone.

No fighting over no bone.

~

Note: Highlighted words are from Adrian CDTPPW - Weekly Prompts for Writing Prompt Enthusiasts. On Medium.

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Next rapping granny 😂😂😂 love it. Fab poem!

  • This was awesomeeee! The next rapping granny!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Really well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.