Poets logo

A Reason to Smile

You can make a list of things that make you unhappy. Find a reason that makes you throw that list away.

By Rasheed FreckletonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

To the kid that asked me today, " Why do you smile so much?"

I'm sorry, I lied I told you I smile because I'm living

And all though I am living

I feel very much dead

I smile because I was trained to

I smile because it is hard to break a habit

I smile because I don't want anyone to worry

I Morris code memorized the look of happiness

  1. Keep your head straight
  2. Show your front row of teeth
  3. Walk with your shoulders out
  4. Step with your right foot forward
  5. And NEVER I repeat NEVER let them see you just living

Never let them see you being you

Never let them see you wet in the middle of a storm

Never let them see you counting the says

Never let them see you being human

Often times my smile may be fake, but there are times when I'm smiling for the better days ahead

I am smiling for louder nights

I am smiling for the youth in children

I am smiling for the whipped cream on top of my hot chocolate

I am smiling for the discounts at a sale

I am smiling, without me even knowing.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rasheed Freckleton

I don't categorize myself as just a poet I'm a storyteller, using my passions, and past experiences as a foundation for every story. I don't write for the money I write for looks of reader's faces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.