Poets logo

A Rare Gift

A poem

By Kali MailhotPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
A Rare Gift
Photo by Riccardo Annandale on Unsplash

He says “No Bad Days” and asks,

“Am I Right?”

It must be for him, always true.

But one day, you won’t know what to do,

with so much good to give,

and nothing to prove.

A mindset like that, a future so bright;

It’s a shock when your skeletons come to light.

You’ve got bones to pick, and you don’t know it all,

But your heart fits snug while the pieces fall.

It’s a rare gift of yours that others envy,

And so your name puts them in a frenzy.

I know your regrets lie in your fingers curled,

I wonder if you’ll release them once you hold the world.

As for me I’ll wonder how to covet this gift.

I hold no contentions, I just feel bereft.

Since my life’s jigsaws are cut all too jagged,

I’ve got a bag of mixed feelings that leave me ragged.

The frame I’m encased in is impossible to relax in.

But the veil over my future is just starting to thin.

Maybe one day I just might ….

say “No Bad Days, Am I Right?”

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Kali Mailhot

hobby poet always looking for new things to write about.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew C McDonald5 months ago

    Very well written. Easy to relate to. Best of luck to you.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Oh wow, this has such a lovely tone and message. Very relatable also.

  • This was so beautifully written! I loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.