Poets logo

A Rainbow Soul

What it means to be an empath

By Joyce KayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
A Rainbow Soul
Photo by David Brooke Martin on Unsplash

I was born with a rainbow soul,

It is blue when it shares in the sorrow of others,

When it hears the stories of heartbroken lovers,

When it hears of injury, sadness, or pain,

Tears of sadness fall like rain.

I was born with a rainbow soul,

It is red when it sees injustices occur,

When the suffering of others has been made into a blur,

When it sees actions that are intended to be mean,

Hot, glowing flames are often seen.

I was born with a rainbow soul,

It is purple when it hears of brave acts,

When people tell of overcoming anxiety attacks,

When it hears of heroes saving the day,

Pride fills my soul in every way.

I was born with a rainbow soul,

It is yellow when it sees happiness,

When it sees optimism and innocence,

When it sees animals, babies, and love,

The colour yellow fits to my soul like a glove.

I was born with a rainbow soul,

It allows to me to feel emotions that don’t belong to me,

Based on another’s experience and what it is that they see,

It is gift that allows me to have a deeper understanding of others,

But it is also a curse when others don’t understand me.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Joyce Kay

Practicing creativity

Instagram: @joycekaywriting

Referral Link: https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=joyce

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.