Poets logo

A Rainbow For My Teacher

In celebration of World Teacher’s Day. A Heartfelt Thanks

By Karyn SavagePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Some days I wished to be far away

From the tedious brown bricks of school.

Out of the grey your pink, smile sparkled:

A fist bump, ”good morning” at our yellow door.

Quietly I’d sit towards the back

Of the hardy, green carpeted floor.

Hoping to fade out of sight:

Never sure if my answers were right,

Your blue eyes catching my gaze,

Gently urging me on.

*

My pencil only seemed to make grey smudges,

No neat letters on the stark white sheet.

Yet to hear your singing praises,

I would try and try again for you,

Because you believed I could.

*

Numbers somersaulted:

A swirling aqua sea in my head.

My blackest of nightmares:

Long division; any division.

But I knew tomorrow you’d patiently,

Teach me the steps over,

Again and again and again.

*

Tommy and I tried to be friends,

The yellow car always had to be his.

He’d scream loudly and run away.

You showed me ways to sprinkle

Colourful little gems:

Kindness and empathy.

You taught me I should try wearing

Other people’s shoes.

But my black shoes had holes in their soles,

I didn’t think anyone would want to wear them.

*

Your voice was the sweetest,

Golden sunshine, when you sang.

Silly songs always made us laugh!

“Washing our face with orange juice!”

Rolling on the floor, faces red

Our sides aching in stitches.

*

But some days were different…

Some, felt grey and sad,

I watched and smelled the wafting:

Warm feast of golden chips and pies.

You’d quietly sit beside me,

All alone on that blue bench.

Twiddling my fingers,

Green eyes to the ground.

Simply, gently you would say,

“No lunch in your bag again today?”

Your pretty pink handbag would produce

The sweetest, ruby red apples.

*

Some days I noticed you looked pale: tired,

I’d see you rub your blue eyes.

I’d draw you the most colourful picture I could.

It wasn’t much, but I hoped,

It might just be enough,

To bring back your pink smile,

To get me though another day.

* To teachers everywhere, keep on believing, encouraging, seeing. Every little moment matters. We thank you! Happy World Teachers day.

childrens poetryheartbreakinspirationalsad poetry
1

About the Creator

Karyn Savage

A teacher, musician and writer at heart. I love painting pictures with words. Poetry and stories in rhyme are what I love to write the most. One day I hope to see some of my works for children in print.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.