Poets logo

A Quilt of Greenery

(The Darkest and Most Muted Shades)

By Jada FergusonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

The road laid steady

As our minivan cascaded across it

The luggage

Snacks

Arguments

Music

And laughter

Leaving its imprint on the highway

With my head outstretched

The air washed through the parts in my fresh braids

My eyes were sealed closed

Until the bridge of my favorite song

Lifted my lids

And I saw the trees folding over one another

A quilt of greenery

That was so comforting and endearing

My soul still takes trips in my mental DeLorean

Back to those moments

To douse itself in the soothing layers of forest green

On the days my flux capacitator is on the fritz

I dip into the fantastical quarter of my brain

There I am a huntress of the most shielded elements of myself

My bare feet caress the olive grass

Until I ascend the most intimidating tree with ease

Atop that immense mass of a living entity

I breathe with purpose

The deep green leaves cleansing my body of its dead skin

I am embraced by

Serenity and Inner peace at its most glorious level

And even when life drags me through a crack in the tree

It has discovered

Unbeknownst to me

My evergreen oasis is still attainable

Because my imagination does not sanction deforestation

It expands and flourishes

Even in the most unappealing of circumstances

And welcomes me back home

When the sun peers into the center of the dimmest green

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.