Poets logo

A Promise to Hold On

Grappling with nightmares

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Promise to Hold On
Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

Fingers reaching for the seam,

To shred apart this fragile dream.

Monsters haunting the mind,

Like a plague to remind,

Of all things bitter and rotten,

Not to let it be forgotten.

And I hold it within,

As of every putrid sin,

Uttering a shaky sigh,

Searching for goodbye.

I grasp the molded edge,

Horrified at the pledge,

That binds me to hold,

As I foretold,

Despite, the desire,

Scorching like a fire,

To release the earth,

Tumbling into the hearth.

To burn forever,

Rather than endeavor.

So, broken prayers are offered,

Baying the coffin to be coffered.

As these hands clasp,

Hope barely within their grasp,

Far it is forsaken,

That I shall awaken.

*This is a poem written when I was a child. I do not change or edit poems from my childhood out of respect to the young girl who wrote them. I trust that she knew what she was doing and wanted to say. I wrote this poem after a particularly bad spell of night terrors to capture the bleak feelings visiting me in those dreams and crossing over into wake. I desperately wanted them to go away.*

surreal poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.