Poets logo

A Poem for the Unpoetical

Beyond rhyme or reason lies the abecedarian

By Alison McBainPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Margarida Afonso on Unsplash (https://unsplash.com/@mrafonso1976)

A Poem for the Unpoetical

Beyond rhyme or reason lies the abecedarian.

* * *

Can one person sell skeptics a poem?

Don’t tell me that it can’t be done.

Every reader likes to experiment now and then,

For what is life without spiciness

Going down our throats like a pebble, even if it’s

Hard for us to swallow?

* * *

I don’t know where I’d be without words

Jumping me from story to story, even

Knowing that my life’s chapter will end too soon.

Long after I’ve dipped my final pen and

Made my escape,

No matter how many words I’ve written

On the page, there will still be tales left untold,

Poems unsung, a life of creation

Quietly disappearing without fanfare.

* * *

Rather than dwell on morbid musings, I will

Shout from the rooftops all my

Thoughts today, and let loose what I need to say,

Until the heavens ring with the

Very essence of what it means to be a

Writer, a poet, a scribbler of tales, a

Xennial whose generation will one day be gone.

You see, when my time comes, there will be

Zero stories I regret telling, especially since they’ll outlast me.

inspirational

About the Creator

Alison McBain

Alison McBain writes fiction & poetry, edits & reviews books, and pens a webcomic called “Toddler Times.” In her free time, she drinks gallons of coffee & pretends to be a pool shark at her local pub. More: http://www.alisonmcbain.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Manikandan Blog Writer6 months ago

    NICE

  • VERY CREATIVE

Alison McBainWritten by Alison McBain

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.