Poets logo

A Poem for Dark Skin Girls

For my sister.

By Nova DarlingPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

A Poem for Dark Skinned Girls.

I espressoed your skin and licoriced your hair. I dug my fingers into the depths of the Atlantic Ocean to mold you with a bit of Egyptian gold. I smeared honey on your thighs, brushed cinnamon on your check bones and sprawled you in front of the sun until you were the color of the midnight sky. I named you “north”, “alpha”, “queen” and “big mama.” Charged with birthing the earth and holding up half the sky; you make humanity a possibility.

Your skin is a reminder of everything beautiful this earth will ever know: the soil farmers feed the world with, the galaxy and the melanin of my crucified son.

When you encounter boys who tell you your skin is too dark for their dicks show them a picture of Lupita Nyong’o, Darmaris Lewis, Arlenis Sosa, Chavoy Gorden, Leila Lopes, Philomena Kwao, Joelle Kayemba, Marssha Mosi and Fatima Siad and then challenge him to tell you that black women are only beautiful in one skin tone.

I’m sorry for the chains and the chains and ships and whips. I’m sorry for the A$AP Rocky, Dr. Dre, the Master P, the Birdman, the Weezy fuckin baby, the NWA’s and Bye Felicas, I am sorry for the CoverGirl, Maybelline and Revlon that made you want to Clorox your skin. If you ever feel like you are worthless, remember you have Ife, Agbara and Adurosinsin in your bloodline.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Nova Darling

I write from the heart. About everything.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.