Poets logo

A Poem A Day In February Contest

The third contest was based on another’s poem placed in a photo with his son. There was still another one.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
4
Permission to use given by Carly Badheartbull

I worked with the young man who wrote the poem above. He died and left a wife and a young son. His son turned six this month. His wife placed the above photo on a post on Facebook and I thought it would be a great prompt for a contest. I asked friends to use the poem to inspire them.

Several contacted me and said it was difficult to do a poem as they are aware of the nature, trauma, and tragedy involved in the story. I wasn’t thinking it would be that difficult. But it is. The winning contestants are below the poem/rhyme I wrote for this story.

With 4 contests so far, and six days left, there is still another contest.

My cousin messaged a poem, his sister recently died from cancer, no jest.

I promised a psychologist I would not focus so much on cancer, the pest.

I take him with me, in my head, so something like this becomes the test.

A Poem a Day in February, is where I get little to no rest!

I have to run to the post office to send prizes, and poems to read and digest.

I have permission to get and formats to suggest.

Some days it becomes a day of being stressed.

I work on the prizes in the form of a book and then maybe I can rest, lest

I get no sleep and don’t get my work done or have a flop in the rhyming/poem chest.

It is time to move on and I know that is something I do attest.

Poetry contest based on the poem in the photo above:

Only 3 poems were entered for this third contest. The poems are listed in the order they came in. And the order they were voted for from personal favorite to 2nd and 3rd favorite.

1. Jennifer Sawatzky

Awakened with hypnotic stares here we are…

A new generation brought down from the stars.

We are more than just human beings~

Into the souls of others, we are clearly seeing.

We came from the stars near the Milky Way.

A distant place so far away.

To make a change upon the ground.

Making moves without a sound.

Powers in the eyes like hidden magic

To protect the land from all that is tragic.

Against all odds~we never fall down.

Lessons are taught through Heyoka clown.

Ones who teach~both sacrifice and hope,

Before humanity tangles itself in the rope.

Save the sacred water to the sky so blue…

Fighting with old fashion Love, Unconditional and true

2. Karen Marie Peterson Grife

This is called My Life

My life was written by His hand

My book He wrote before the world began

My choices were made as He chose me first

My world is small, but I see His creation as miraculous

My wonderful parents and siblings were chosen especially for me.

My walk has wavered but His love has never failed.

My life is winding down, yet He is with me always.

My Love, my Friend, my Savior, my Papa,

is my God

3. Kathy Hron

On January second of this year

A young football player took a hit.

As he lies motionless on the ground

I think America changed course a bit.

It seemed as though time stood still.

We knew that he was not okay.

The sportscaster said it best:

“I feel I want to pray.”

The cameras panned to the players.

Huddled together on bended knee.

Not to protest their latest cause

but to offer up a plea.

Thankfully prayers were answered

for recovery of this young man.

He wanted to play in the Super Bowl

God had a greater plan.

2/12/23. Damar Hamlin, after suffering cardiac arrest is well enough to attend the Super Bowl and was awarded NFL’s Association Alan Page Community Service award. Part of his speech: “Every day I’m amazed that my experience encouraged so many others across the country, and even across the world. Encouraged to pray, encouraged to spread love, and encouraged to keep fighting no matter the circumstances.”

inspirationalsocial commentaryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.