Poets logo

A Plea to Death

A poem about death and rebirth.

By Kris LelielPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sweet Death, please forgive me.

I mistakenly thought of you intimately.

Your terrifying transformations

spur agonizing approximations

of how harshly grief will eat me.

Torture at the core of eternity,

breaking my hearts specifically.

Scarce souls torn again

after another lifetime’s end;

transferring my pain repeatedly.

This time, just be with me.

No running, no forcing, just ending.

After aeons of restlessness,

countless vendettas off my chest,

I need to settle softly.

A dripping depression I dare to conquer

without you, yet I only falter.

No need to erase my pain,

but take it to be slain

as a masterpiece on your altar.

I’ll never run away, sweet Death.

I’m only requesting a final rest

or a life shared with you,

my karma born anew,

banishing my past life’s mess.

It’s an ideal plea.

Sweet Death, please forgive me.

I mistakenly thought of you intimately.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kris Leliel

Kris Leliel is a strange writer who posts about the occult and spirituality, goth stuff, horror, creative writing, mental health, and her own creative ventures. She has a Masters in Liberal Studies and a BA in English & Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.