Poets logo

A Perfectly Rare Day

a poem

By E.K. DanielsPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
A Perfectly Rare Day
Photo by Ric Tom on Unsplash

Have you ever had one of those days -

Where everything seems to go right?

The lights go green, the skies turn blue,

And the fish take every bait bite?

*

They may be rare and far between,

But they have been known by me.

If you don’t believe me, I will tell you the tale

Of the twenty four hours l spent in pure glee.

*

The morning started sunny side up,

Not a cloud amongst the rays,

My eggs perfectly cooked,

And my bed already made.

*

My teeth brushed themselves,

And I woke without a care

To hit the snooze button until it stopped,

Or to curse the early air.

*

With a spring in my step I floated down the stairs,

I sauntered round the flat,

I found my coffee heated perfectly

Next to my well-contented cat.

*

My day started lovely,

But was only to proceed

In a manner most peculiarly

One unbelievable indeed.

*

At the beach I found myself

Making friends with a shark,

His bark worse than his bite,

He showed his teeth for just a lark.

*

Then later I walked down the street,

Met a pair of identical twins,

They both were ambidextrous,

And could play the violin.

*

But this wasn’t their only talent,

They reminded me as well,

They had both been struck by lightning,

And had lived to tell the tale.

*

Their stories inspired me,

So I went to try my hand,

To roll the dice and test my luck

To find great riches in the land.

*

To my surprise,

it was just that kind of day,

I picked all the perfect numbers,

And the rest is history, so they say.

*

I won the lottery fair and square,

I cashed in all my winnings,

But I left my wallet at the store,

The buck stopped before beginning.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

E.K. Daniels

Writer, watercolorist, and regular at the restaurant at the end of the universe. Twitter @inkladen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.