Poets logo

A Perfect Place

Hope In A Box

By Kimmie HitePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Heroes of My Home

Tale as old as time

No matter your history

Where curiosity unleashed darkness

On unsuspecting humanity

Despite

Because of love

A small grain of hope escaped too

It’s where you go when you feel alone

Retreat to escape your woes

Lay your head down to recuperate sanity

Refuel when tank is on Empty

This place

Inside

Encompasses your hope for the world

It’s hope in a box

When at times the world is ice cold

This is your peace, laughter, security

The reason why you set the tone

For your present and future legacies

This is your Home

Home is love boxed away from all the hate

A little light away from the chaos

That makes anxiety great

Everyday I step outside my box

Knowing some are not up with the times

Too busy stuck in the past

Operating in fear and animosity

Letting it rule them like they’re cold hard facts

They need a system update

If they living in that calamity

So I show gratitude to my multiple homes

When it comes to where I live, work, hang and learn

Blame it on my family or my community

I do my best to live drama free

That way everywhere I be feels like a homecoming

Now I know sometimes the world moves you

To take a side where you can’t be neutral

Wrong or right

Stand and fight

When people emerge preying on the weak

Some people be wolves disguised as sheep

Thinking rules make them beyond reach

Yes leading by example can only go so far

If the opposition refuses to turn their hearing aids on

Extra hard if masons set the foundation up with bricks

Therefore, when I walk through the doors of my homes

I’m thankful I exist

When love, peace and happiness

Engulfs and greets me

The minute I retreat into my box to kick back

I can shed the masks I’ve been wearing

Unload the weight I’ve been carrying

Undress and let my hair down so to speak

Revealing the bare, naked, authentic me

Being welcomed with arms wide open

By love on the inside

Is the best kind of homecoming

My homes are blessing, fantasy and dreams come true

I pray one day the feelings inside my box

Can be opened and unleashed

Shared with the world because

That’s how genuine love is rooted deep

Yet at the moment that’s just a rose colored view

Till I can take off my glasses on the streets

And have a little bit of home no matter where I go

I’ll just keep the rose colored hue

Till inside and outside is one big Home

That will be a homecoming

I’ll be proud to pass down

To my kids without worry

When they leave my home

To go build their own

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.