Poets logo

A Note to Self

Why am I scared to do the thing I love the most?

By LIFE MAZIPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ali Yahya on Unsplash

This notebook I'm scribbling in,

Everyday

Waits patiently for me to pick it up and

Parade

It with thoughts and feelings

Sprayed

Into something more meaningful than whispers in my

Brain.

Torn pages reflect my

Pain

That my eyes project - and my heart aches yet

Again

When lines push through messy writing and try to

Erase

The lances poked into my dreams and future

Ways.

Before this moment right now, I

Abstained

From wiping the dust off this notebook and

Proclaimed

That pens unravelled in my palms like

Chains

And pages flew away from me like

Planes.

All this I

Feigned

Because I believed my art belonged to another

Domain.

Now I understand that this notebook and pen do not

Restrain

Me from creating the art I ultimately

Cremate.

I myself can only

Detain

My dream from flying and being

Maintained.

As I come to the end of the page

Again,

I vow to myself to drive down this

Lane

'Stop being insane'

And let go of insecure

Stains

That do nothing but bring you down, and

Taints

Your future from commencing.

Amen.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

LIFE MAZI

A RELIC OF GROWTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.