Poets logo

A New Year

Another day

By Kevin KlabonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
A New Year
Photo by Sebastiano Piazzi on Unsplash

Looking through the windowpane as it rains - Are these tears, or tiny rivers of pain?

Wondering why the heartaches on moody days - The grey shade of clouds imitating the lonely soul of blue.

The drumming of the storm, the pounding in my brain - All these feelings are they real or am I imagining.

Cold and lonely the whispering winds blow - Howling like the wounded soul.

Wrapped up in comfort with this blanket I wear - Sipping chamomile tea on this worn-out chair.

The haze of the weather the fog of my mind - The hands of winter ever reaching, creeping near.

The light in the distance glowering - The distant rays of endless summer days faltering.

Dusk delivers a mighty freeze - Ice is building, bending branches, and breaking trees.

The hound is snoring while outside it is pouring - The old house is groaning and the heater roaring.

My frozen toes anchored in wool - A race to the bed, with sheets so cold they invite the dead.

With each fierce gale throughout the night - I wrap my body like a cocoon pulling my covers ever so tight.

Dawn breaking over a somber frozen land - and old bones creaking as I blow into these frigid hands.

As a fresh snow falls, blue in the depth of shadows call - and the frost nips like a rabid dog at my toes.

A silence that grips - warm breath on the arctic air - a blanket of white on the earth she wears.

My feet on this frozen land, my lungs fill with this icy air - Can you feel it, this dawning of a New Year?

Muted rays of this day's last light, out with a wink - Usher in the veil of night, a starless sky black as ink.

Under the warmth of covers, I will sleep and dream of days past - for tomorrow is just another day.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    beautifully done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.