Poets logo

A New World

A Poem After Women's History Month

By Emilie TurnerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2022
22

Emptiness is all that I feel,

Silence my only friend.

My bed cold and the world silent,

The day has come to end.

At first, I felt very hopeful,

Life would be different.

I thought change was finally here,

Dreamy... magnificent.

I never dreamed we would go back,

Worse than things were before.

Thought we finally had a voice,

and basic rights galore.

But once the day is at an end,

and all is said and done,

I feel like we have stepped backwards,

and the end has begun.

The fight will never be over

At least that's how it feels.

There is so much work to be done,

We fight to take the wheel.

I fight for a much better world,

After the big parade.

A world secure for my children,

A world we will have made.

Women's history is central,

And celebrations, key.

But the fight needs to continue,

Of this, I guarantee.

social commentary
22

About the Creator

Emilie Turner

I’m studying my Masters in Creative Writing and love to write! My goal is to become a published author someday soon!

I have a blog at emilieturner.com and I’ll keep posting here to satisfy my writing needs!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Noor Ul saba Shah2 years ago

    totally agreed , & wish you best of luck !!!

  • ArtisKev N.2 years ago

    Short but touching! I totally agree that we should keep fighting, for, everything, because "There is so much work to be done"😥 Btw, good luck! 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.