Poets logo

A Name I Cannot Recall

If you have nothing nice to say, why say it?

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
1
A Name I Cannot Recall
Photo by Jesús Rocha on Unsplash

Your heart was so ugly, I could never quite see your face.

I fell from heaven and ascended into a memory that I've tried to erase.

I wish you every happiness in the perfection to which you have moved on.

Although, I won't pretend to be naïve about your future happiness and its undoubted misconception.

There is a name for people like you, a name that I cannot recall.

Though it seems the harder I try to find it, the further from grace I fall.

I will learn to forgive you for everything you've done.

But I won't forget your lack of morals as you chased the horizon of the midnight sun.

May you find your values, may your learn who you are;

And pray that you don't come to find, your real name has been replaced by a permanent scar.

Your brand tarnished, as your worth fades away;

With striking resemblance to your significant moral decay.

I don't pretend to know you, for, I've never seen your face.

Now that I see clearly, you are a memory that should never have been in the first place.

slam poetrysad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    They're definitely a narcissist! Your poem was so poignant and emotional. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.