Poets logo

A Musical Dedication to My Dad

A poetic compilation of song lyrics

By Stephanie TurnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Musical Dedication to My Dad
Photo by Ivana Cajina on Unsplash

For the man whose musical influence still impacts me today, my dad (1953-2014).

What makes the battle worth the fighting?

What makes the mountain worth the climb?

What makes the questions worth the asking? The reason worth the rhyme?

To me, the answer is clear.

It's having someone near, someone dear. Someone to care for, to be there for.

When life leaves you high and dry, I'll be at your door tonight, if you need help, if you need help.

Little darling, it's been a long, cold lonely winter. I have confidence that spring will come again.

See, here comes the sun, and as you know, sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy. Sunshine in my eyes makes me cry. Sunshine on the water looks so lovely. Sunshine, almost always, makes me high.

Here comes the sun.

Here comes the sun.

It seems like years since it's been here.

Little darling, your hope is dangling by the string.

Darling, if I had a tale that I could tell you, I'd tell you a tale sure to make you smile. If I had a wish that I could wish for you, I'd make a wish for sunshine all the while.

I'll love you long after I'm gone.

You are my cornerstone. You're my crutch when my legs stop moving. You're my head start. You're my rugged heart.

Like a drum, don't stop beating. Like a drum, my heart will never stop beating for you.

For you.

I'm not moving on.

I'll love you long after you're gone.

Sun, sun, sun, here it comes.

---

Lyrics from:

"You Two," "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang"

"Gone Gone Gone," Phillip Phillips

"Here Comes the Sun," The Beatles

"I Have Confidence," "Sound of Music"

"Sunshine on my Shoulders," John Denver

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Turner

I have written since I was little, be it journal entries, short stories, or poems, and hold a bachelor's degree in English with a focus in journalism. I left my post as a newspaper reporter after 8 years, but my drive for writing remains.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.