Poets logo

A Mouthful of Glass

F R I E N D S H I P

By Poppy Published 10 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
53
Image created with Midjourney

To me, friendship was a leech. A pick, plucking my veins like guitar strings, weaving a ballad of bereavement. A birch leaf caught between summer and winter, turning a brilliant shade of molten gold before it shrivels like waterlogged skin and rots into the ground like a corpse.

You told me friendship had always been the rocks in your pockets and the chains on your ankles. Waterboarding and a head held underwater. To you, friendship was just different ways of drowning.

We put a cast around the remainder of our broken bones, fusing them together like soap shrapnel. We swore we’d discover a different way to pronounce friendship - one that didn’t include choking on the word.

You taught me how to paint pictures in my mind with colours as vivid as the bruises on my brain.

You changed my reds to crimsons, my blues to cobalts, my purples to violets and my blacks to charcoals.

I placed a pen in your gentle hands and reminded you they don’t have to stay empty.

I wrote reassurances on your eyelids in the hopes that you’d stop seeing the world as someone to hurt you.

The letters in friendship curved at the edges and softened on the page, running together so we could no longer cut our fingers on the sharpened edges.

And then you left.

To me, abandonment tastes like a mouthful of glass - shards going to war with flesh. Loneliness is the strange shadows in my room that, when trapped between sleep and waking, look painfully like the silhouette of your back as you walked away. And heartache - heartache is the shape of your ukulele you used to play me songs on.

The word friendship has jagged corners again. It’s dripping a vivid shade of crimson blood and it’s decaying like the burnt charcoal pages of our story.

To me, friendship is a scar that keeps reopening.

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this, please check out the ones below:

sad poetry
53

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧10 months ago

    This is beautifully written with powerful imagery. Well done!

  • Marygreato10 months ago

    Congratulations, I like your story

  • Congrats! Can I just say YES, you hit it on the head. And though painful, beauty arises. Thank you

  • Alice10 months ago

    it is very nice

  • Olaf Thomas 10 months ago

    Very nice poem

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I've read a couple of your poems before. This one definitely pushed me to subscribe. Loved the title, a painful description in itself. Well done!!!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Some relationships hurt more than they should. Others feel like they should never have started at all. Your imagery is very impressive and I am glad you made the TS list!

  • Melissa Dawn White10 months ago

    I'm glad I was able to recover my funds from these fake forex brokers, Would have had to file for bankruptcy, thanks to chargebacksecured -.- com. I was able to get a hold of these scam brokers and take back my money. I would gladly refer anyone. Please mention Melissa to get preferential treatment.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Wow!!!! This is beyond good. Every line grabs the reader by the throat, demanding to be read again. This is really,really good. Congrats on a very deserved Top Story.

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Congrats, well done!

  • Aaron Typpö10 months ago

    I really enjoyed this

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    Whoa, like seriously whoa.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    That was brutal I felt it cut deep as fresh betrayal Don't know if I got what you were trying for but damn

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    A truthful, deep, painful and emotionally honest poetic narrative❤️Absolutely love it

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Wow, this was a deep dive into some beautifully expressed pain. Such powerful imagery that plummeted me directly into the heartache. Wonderful job and congrats on top story! 💫

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Wow. This is incredibly painful, yet so beautifully written. Great work and congratulations on Top Story.

  • Nova E.10 months ago

    Congrats, well done!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    This is painful, as intended. Well done, and congratulations!

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    I'm so glad this got Top Story!!💖

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Great writing! Great read!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story❤️😉❗

  • Well deserved Top Story, Congratulations on your excellent piece

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Our pleas were answered! Congratulations on TS! Yay!! 🍾🎊🎉

  • Enjoyed this? No. Identified with it, resonating with it, moved by it? Whelmingly, yes. Those fears of rejection, betrayal, abandonment that make it so hard to trust, even more so moving into the future as that trust has been betrayed, is very real & powerfully captured in this writing you've shared with us. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.