Poets logo

A Mother Will Lose Her Son Too Soon

Poetry

By Yvonne KnightPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

+I find it so absurd that people cannot express their hurt with words,

Loud gunshots are all that is heard,

A boy lie bleeding in the streets,

A mother holding her child while weeping,

While thinking I’ll never get to see my only child walk down the aisle.

The boy’s peeps gather in the streets,

Revenge is all they seek,

Anything else would be perceived as weak,

The mother says, “I don’t want any bloodshed,

I don’t want another mother’s tears shed,

Enough talk of bloodshed,

I don’t want anybody else dead,

Too many babies are dead.

Where does it end?”

Boy’s friend says, “I swear to you that I will exact your son’s revenge.”

The mother says, “To what end?

My only son will still be dead.”

Boy says, “Revenge is all we have in the end.”

“Then another mother’s son is dead.

When will it end?

“What if they kill you too?

What will your mother do?

If she lost you too?”

Boy say, “revenge is all I can do for you.”

“Than your mother will lose a son too soon.

I fear the next generation is doomed.”

©2015

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Yvonne Knight

I'm trying to find a place for my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.