Poets logo

A Mirror’s Rainbow View

A Life of Color

By Debra DebekPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Mirror’s Rainbow View
Photo by Jake Nackos on Unsplash

I gazed into the mirror and looking back at me

was a tiny little girl who was no more than two or three

She had natural pink blushed cheeks and wore a ruffled pink dress

She smiled and turned away with a quick flip of her curly dark tress

As I recall the little girl

all I see is the color pink

like the color of cotton candy

A color of pure joy so reminiscent and so distinct

I gazed into a mirror and surprised at what I had seen

A young teenage girl with glistening blue teardrops falling down her face in a steady flowing stream

Her first teenage crush has broken her little heart

As she learned he didn’t love her and her world was torn apart

I recall her sadness as an oceans shade of blue

Her ocean of endless teardrops as her first love left and withdrew

I gazed into a mirror and looking back at me

A lovely grown woman about the age of 23

Angelic in her pure white flowing wedding gown

Her veil with eyelet appliqués fell onto her shoulders and draped upon ground

White was her color

like the color of the threads sewn in her dress’s seams

Each thread a journey before her as she sets off to live her dreams

I gaze into a mirror and see a field of lush and vibrant green

Upon it a blanket set out with a lovely woman with her husband and a newborn baby in between

Green is the color of peace and harmony

Reflected in this image of a complete and new family

I gaze into a mirror and the reflection is absolutely right

No image could better describe the uniqueness of my life

In the mirror I now see every color and every hue

The shape of a perfect rainbow presents my life’s story in full view

Every step along the way

as seen in all my mirror’s views

Were the journeys of my life

seen as a life full of rainbow colors and hues

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Debra Debek

Writer enthusiast, poetry lover, using my voice to unravel a complicated life and a complicated mind of one human life sharing experiences of all human lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.