Poets logo

A MIGHTY STORM.....AND METAPHOR

LIGHTNING

By Novel AllenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
A DARK BEAUTY

One rainy night, I stood by my window

Fire streaked across the sky

Bolts of lightning reached forth their snarling fingers

Thunder cracked

The heavens roared

Man made transformer atop the pole, struck by a mighty blast

Burst into flames

Sparks flew, fire erupted

The bolts of lightning formed a virtual artwork of fury across

the Heavens

So close was it to me I jumped back in fear

I thought 'speak Lord, I hear you

Such was the sheer power not twenty feet from me

So I shouted 'speak Lord, I hear you'

DANCE OF LIGHT

It is beautiful

This dangerous fiery beast

Consider in awe

This vast incomprehensible universe that we have only

just scratched the surface of understanding

Its force and depth can bring us to our knees

Consider our frailty

How small we are in the universe

How the mighty hand of our creator can decide if we live or die

In this storm I saw my life

I glimpsed the infinite

The turbulence

The inner workings of the pieces that form this magical being

We are nothing but bones and sinew stitched together to form

LIFE

How truly awesome that this individual blends with millions of

similar individuals to form one collective human race

The wondrous beauty of life

It waits not for you

The years fly by

Each new one takes you closer to

Infinite intelligence

A DARK BEAUTY PIC COURTESY OF NOAA - UNSPLASH (Thanks)

Hearts

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.