Poets logo

A March Afternoon at the Reservoir

One of those times spent spectating the sun

By D.K. ShepardPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
A March Afternoon at the Reservoir
Photo by oliver spicer on Unsplash

The trees are still a sea of shivering

gray bones, only the evergreen needles

show life beneath the cloudless sky, but we’re

wearing our shorts because the air feels warm,

the sun feels closer than it has in months.

Bodies stretched out across the wooden dock,

we watch the white underbellies of some

Canadian geese bobbing on the lake

until their sleek, long necks emerge. She stands

and kicks her shoes off, “Come on, let’s jump in!”

And I say, “You’re crazy, it’s way too cold.”

The couple on the rocky ledge above

are staring now, the girl puts her copy

of The Tempest aside. “Please” my friend begs.

I shake my head, but sidle to the edge

and dip my foot into the frigid pond,

my best show of support. She shrugs and leaps

splashing me with icy droplets. She shrieks

as she breaks the surface, and I just laugh

as the ripples pulse around my numb toes,

spheres expanding larger from a small core

Like celestial ones we resemble

I realize just how near the sun is,

She shares its fire, and I’m a basking moon.

Friendship
9

About the Creator

D.K. Shepard

Character Crafter, Witty Banter Enthusiast, World Builder, Unpublished novelist...for now

Fantasy is where I thrive, but I like to experiment with genres for my short stories. Currently employed as a teacher in Louisville.

dkshepard.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Priscilla Bettis2 months ago

    I love this poem. It's a celebration of nature and friendship.

  • Such a delightful poem! ‘ shake my head, but sidle to the edge and dip my foot into the frigid pond,’ Smart person! It’s just starting to get cooler her in Oz!

  • Awww, this was just so wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Lovely, D.K. It left me feeling humbled yet satisfied.

  • Bonnie Bowerman3 months ago

    Loved this! A beautifully expressed breath of spring! The last line was a master stroke! "She shares its fire, and I’m a basking moon."

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Gorgeous, this really captures a moment so wonderfully. I feel cold and warmed at once.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Those last 2 lines are pure genius. Not that they'd have been the same without the others, of course. Really a peaceful, refreshing read.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I love this, D.K.! I love the peace of nature and the warmth that spring is bringing. I love the fact that your friend jumps in with exuberance. I love the fact there's a girl reading "The Tempest"! It's so playful and then you make it all universal with your last two lines, like there's a timelessness to it that spans eternity. Lovely.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.