Poets logo

A love letter to myself:

<3

By Audrey LarkinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A love letter to myself:
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

If you don’t love me

As much as I love me

You aren’t worth my time.

At least that’s what I tell people

to explain why I’m single.

That doesn’t mean

I don’t have my flaws

Or don’t feel broken at times.

By Umberto on Unsplash

I love myself despite all that.

I have filled my cracks with golden flecks of happiness .

The world is too negative a place if you don’t.

They will rip you apart before they know you.

By laura adai on Unsplash

It’s your job to love yourself

How can you expect someone to love you

the way you deserve otherwise?

That doesn’t mean I don’t love you

With every fiber and molecule of my being.

But I have to protect myself

Or else I might have to fill more cracks.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Audrey Larkin

I'm a young arts professional who is finally sharing some of the poetry and prose I've written while working through grief and self reflection. Sometimes poetry is the easiest form to translate neurodivergent nuances. Why not use it?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.