Poets logo

A lot of nonsense...

I've run too much from myself to be scared by anyone else,

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A lot of nonsense...
Photo by Gani Nurhakim on Unsplash

I have seen the tears enough

to know they don't add up;

I have seen the smiles,

and know they don't subtract.

In all of these oceans, in all of these lands,

a drop in the bucket and lives like the sands,

and where I started is a faded memory

that seems like a fairy tale from here.

I could be wrong, but I figure

the chance is just as good I'm right.

I don't mean to gamble or

handle lightly. I meant the best in

every last thing I've done

meandering through time.

I didn't do this just to feel it

or to verify my blood in my veins;

I do this because I know now

there is no point denying what you are.

A painter is a painter is a painter;

maybe a bad one, or one never known,

but a painter nonetheless and always.

And I am an oddity I won't

even try to explain.

Just know I know me,

and I'll figure out you

if I'm meant to.

And that will be that and how it is.

I've run too much from myself

to be scared by anyone else,

and I figure I'll take the next mission and

know there's another one after.

That's just me;

it's what I do,

always have,

and a final day may come,

but I don't see it anytime soon

and the truce is not mine to make.

So come, old foe and and too often

close acquaintance, do your worst

and bring your best;

We've chapters yet to write and ages yet to see.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.