Poets logo

A little while

Solace in a Fleeting Moment

By khudai NoorPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
A little while
Photo by Orimi Protograph on Unsplash

A little while, a little while,

The wearied tasks, I cast away,

I sing, I smile, my heart beguiled,

In leisure's embrace, I find my stay.

Oh, why, my heart, must you depart,

What whispers, scenes allure thee so?

In near or far, where find you rest,

For my tired brow, where solace bestow?

There lies a place 'midst barren hills,

Where winter wails in driving rain,

Yet, should tempests coldly chill,

A light emerges, warming again.

An ancient house, its trees laid bare,

Above, a moonless twilight's dome,

But on this earth, what could compare,

To the hearth of home, so sweet, so home?

The silent bird upon the stone,

Dank moss that weeps from weathered walls,

Gaunt thorn-trees, walks with weeds o'ergrown,

I love them all, their beauty calls.

In musings deep, the room so bare,

The alien firelight fades away,

From cheerless gloom, to bright, clear air,

I step into the unclouded day.

A narrow lane, with green aglow,

Opening onto a wide expanse,

A distant chain of mountains, slow,

Circling 'round, in a dreamy trance.

A heaven clear, an earth so calm,

Soft air, sweet, hushed in its repose,

Deepening still, the dream-like balm,

Moor-sheep grazing where the heather grows.

I knew this scene, it held me fast,

The turfy path on hills that roll,

Winding o'er each undulating cast,

Tracing the trails of wandering soul.

Could I linger but an hour's grace,

It'd repay a week of toil,

Yet Truth dispels sweet Fancy's chase,

Restraint and tasks resume their coil.

Even as I stood, enraptured gaze,

Lost in bliss, so deep, so clear,

My fleeting rest, like morning haze,

Labor, duty, and care reappear.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

khudai Noor

pen as his compass and creative mind as her material, has secured himself as a complex narrator in the scholarly domain. His stories, various in type yet reliably convincing, mirror a profound comprehension of the human experience.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    Well written! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.