Poets logo

A little color, they said

Kelly Fontaine

By Kelly FontainePublished 3 years ago 1 min read

A little color, they said

it would be nice, they said

how about a tan, they said

you're too pale, they said

you have freckles, they said

and red hair, they said

Why don't you tan, they said

You're too pale, they said

Why can't I, I said

I am so ugly, I said

I love their skin, I said

I should dye my hair, I said

I should use tanner, I said

I burned my skin, I said

I ruined my hair, I said

My skin, I said

MY SKIN!, I said

I LOVE my skin, I said

I LOVE your skin, I said

It's your skin, they said

Love the skin you're in.

social commentary

About the Creator

Kelly Fontaine

Just a woman with children, trying to get by... on a butterfly's wing of hope.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelly FontaineWritten by Kelly Fontaine

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.