Poets logo

A Little Boy Speaking His Mind

He loves to talk, but the thing is…I can’t understand him.

By Sharing RandomlyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Little Boy Speaking His Mind
Photo by Shirota Yuri on Unsplash

He wakes up

Begins to stretch

Off he goes

He immediately starts looking

Looking for everyone

Greetings start to flow

While eating breakfast

Sharing is what he loves

Sharing his words

Back and front

Left and right

He goes all through his day

Talking amazed about everything

Every new object

Every new expression

Talking is what he enjoys the most

Soon we will all understand

Understanding him is what is missing

He mumbles and babbles

For hours he goes

He is communicating

In his head, he knows what he is saying

He will soon learn

Learn to speak properly

But for now...

You will catch him endlessly talking

Thinking that I can understand every word

Me secretly loving him more and more

I nod to everything he says

Encouragement is what he needs

Full conversations go on

With us just having weird discussions

As I can only try to figure out…

Figure out what is in that tiny little head

I know that he is already having full-on conversations

But does he know that he is not saying anything?

Guess not

He will soon learn

While being the cutest

---

This poem was inspired by my nephew. He is one year old and is starting to talk, he can say basic words like hi, bye, more, me, you, water, etc. but he cannot formulate a complete thought. As he is growing up, he is mumbling more and more by the day and I have found myself having full-on conversations without really having one.

He mumbles while pointing at things, he wants to show. He makes the cutest expressions while talking and I follow along. What is he thinking? What does he want to say? For now, I will not know.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sharing Randomly

Just a normal woman with lots to share. I write about art, mental health, entrepreneurship, and lots more.

Support me: https://ko-fi.com/sharingrandomly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.