Poets logo

A Lifetime of Lotus Flowers

When I am with you, I am home

By Kemari HowellPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Lifetime of Lotus Flowers
Photo by Xuan Nguyen on Unsplash

Thinking of your fingertips and soft kiss,

We are a fully expressed flame, an open fire.

When I miss you and you're absent,

The blue thunder wave drags me down,

until I kiss you again.

Then I am a raging lioness, a golden goddess. Ignited and lighted.

I hunger for the green bucolia of our youth, Croom Road and our imperfect truth.

When we unraveled a lifetime of lotus flowers thriving in the mud.

Unreflected in the glass, hidden in a humbled heart, a memory of our first and last.

Without you here to ground me, I have no roots.

An aimless traveler seeking the journey before the destination. Impatient.

Writing down the ivory of my bones, the swelling ache for you.

Love letters to a hopeless fool.

This fragile, paper soul etched with words that bring me home.

Back with you.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Kemari Howell

Coffee drinking, mermaid loving, too many notebooks having rebel word witch, journaling junkie, story / idea strategist, and creative overlord. Here to help people find creativity, tell their stories, and change the world with their words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.