Poets logo

A life of retreat

Aspirations for a life of retreat

By Lazare HurstPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A life of retreat
Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

There have been not many philosophers in this world.

They have walked remote paths.

Whoever walks in their footsteps

And escapes from the noise and strife of the world.

His life will be very peaceful!

The arrogant and arrogant noble class

He does not disturb his mind.

Nor does he envy the wise Moor who builds

supported by jasper

He does not envy the gilded roofs built by wise Moors and supported by jasper.

Nor does he care for the reputation

Whether his name is sung like a hawker.

Nor does he care for the truth

And whether what is bitterly condemned

Whether it is lavishly trumpeted by flattering tongues

Whether it is pointed out by the fingers of the lovers of vanity

Or with hunger and thirst

Or panting with hunger and thirst, and hard fears

To chase after the fame that passes like the wind

can bring me joy and excitement?

Oh, fountain! Oh, rivers! Oh, mountains!

Oh, safe and delightful hideaway!

I steered the almost-wrecked ship

I fled the stormy sea.

To your gracious peace.

I need continuous dreams.

To live happy, free and simple.

I do not need to see

I don't need to see the conceited and angry faces of those who are in high places by blood and money

I don't need to see the deliberate expressions of conceit and anger made by those who are in high places by blood and money.

Let the birds wake me up with their sweet and natural songs

to wake me up.

And do not let the man who looks up to the nose of another

With his annoying anxiety, which never leaves his body

And let not the man who is a suppliant of others disturbs me to sleep with his annoying anxiety.

I want to live alone.

I will enjoy the happiness that God has given me.

Alone, without a witness.

Free from love and passion.

Free from hatred, hopes and doubts, and worries.

On the hillside.

I have planted a garden with my own hands.

When spring comes

The beautiful flowers are colorful.

Now the hope of a fruitful harvest is sure.

From the wind-blown hilltop.

A pure spring.

It rushes to the garden.

As if very eager

To see its beauty enhanced.

The spring was quite

It winds its way through the woods

Scattering colorful flowers along the way

And makes the places it passes

And shades of green.

The breeze blows through the garden

The fragrance of the trees

It shakes the trees and

It makes a soft sound

It makes gold and power faint as smoke.

Let those who entrust themselves to unstable ships

Have their treasures of gold and silver.

When the north wind and the south wind roar

Witnessing their tears and loss of faith.

That is not my business.

The masts creaked with the wind and waves.

The bright day turns into a blind night.

The chaotic clamor reached the heavens.

It was they who were scrambling to be the first to

They were scrambling to offer their treasures to the gods of the sea.

The food was simple.

But the food is simple, but it is delicious and sweet.

Enough to satisfy me and make me rejoice.

Let the dishes made of pure gold

to the one who is not frightened when the sea is angry.

When the rest of the people

With unsatisfied desire

To pursue power that does not last.

While the rest of the people are burning with anxiety

Let me sing and cultivate myself in the shade of a tree.

I lie in the shade of a tree

With the eternal laurel and ivy over my head.

Listening attentively

The pleasant sound of the piano

The sound of the lyre when the strings are delicately plucked.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Lazare Hurst

I sympathize with all those who do not want to go to bed. I sympathize with all those who want a bright light at night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.